Wilderness Areas

JMorgan Wilderness Areas

This post is also available in: enEnglish frFrançais deDeutsch

The Western Slope of Colorado is home to 23 Wilderness Areas, designated under the Wilderness Act of 1964, PL 88-577, Sec 2c.  These areas are managed under the following federal agencies, the Forest Service, National Parks Service, Bureau of Land Management, and the Fish and Wildlife Service.  Colorado is home to 43 Wilderness Areas, with a total over 3.7 million acres of preserved land, with Western Colorado being the home of the states largest Wilderness Area, the Weminuche Wilderness.

Forest Service Wilderness Areas in Western Colorado:

Collegate Peaks Wilderness Area (White River, San Isabel, GMUG)

Eagles Nest Wilderness Area (White River)

Flat Tops Wilderness Area (Medicine Bow-Routt, White River)

Fossil Ridge Wilderness Area (GMUG)

Holy Cross Wilderness Area (San Isabel, White River)

Hunter-Frying Pan Wilderness Area (White River)

La Grata Wilderness Area (GMUG, Rio Grande)

Lizard Head Wilderness Area (San Juan, GMUG)

Maroon Bells- Snowmass Wilderness Area (GMUG, White River)

Mesa Verde Wilderness Area (San Juan)

Mount Sneffels Wilderness Area (GMUG)

Mount Zirkel Wilderness Area (Medicine Bow-Routt)

Never Summer Wilderness Area (Arapaho, Medicine Bow-Routt)

Platt River Wilderness Area (Medicine Bow-Routt)

Raggeds Wilderness Area (GMUG, White River)

Sarvis Creek Wilderness Area (Medicine Bow-Routt)

South San Juan Wilderness Area (Rio Grande, San Juan)

Uncompahgre (Big Blue) Wilderness Area (GMUG)

Weminuche Wilderness Area (San Juan, Rio Grande)

West Elk Wilderness Area (GMUG)

Bureau of Land Management Wilderness Areas:

Black Ridge Wilderness Area

Gunnison Gorge Wilderness Area

Dominguez Canyon Wilderness Area

National Park Service:

Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park

Canyons of the Ancients National Monument

Colorado National Monument

Hovenweep National Monument

Mesa Verde National Park