Maroon Bells- Snowmass Wilderness Area

JMorgan Wilderness Areas

This post is also available in: enEnglish frFrançais deDeutsch ja日本語

Located in the Elk Mountains of central Colorado, the Maroon Bells- Snowmass Wilderness Area was established in 1980. Named after the two Maroon Bells and Snowmass Mountain, this wilderness area has six mountain peaks over 14,000 feet in elevation. To use this wilderness area, hikers and climbers need to get a free permit before hitting the Trail Head.

For information on the Maroon Bells-Snowmass Wilderness contact the U.S. Forest service at 970-925-3445 or visit

USGS Topo Maps Link:

Gothic Pearl Pass Snowmass Mountain Maroon Bells
Hayden Peak Marble Redstone Capitol Peak
Highland Peak Mount Sopris Basalt

Established:  1964 (one of the five original Wilderness Areas in Colorado)
Acres:  181,535

Elevation Range:  7,500 to 14,265 feet


Towns:  Aspen, Snowmass, Woody Creek, Basalt, El Jebel, Carbondale, Glenwood Springs


Hike: Aspen

Camp: White River National Forest, Aspen-Sopris RD

14er: Elk Mountains